Banner advertisement is perhaps the oldest and
most common mode of advertisement in the WWW. In its simplest form
- it acts like a billboard, spreading a promotional message and
helping interested visitors to jump to relevant web-site.
Difference between a physical billboard and on-line banner advertisement lies in ability of the later to measure campaign effectiveness. Unlike traditional ad media like TV or print where measuring audience response is difficult - its possible to obtain clear and accurate measurements of success or failure of on-line ads through web traffic analysis. How good is banner advertisement for your business ? Should you adopt this known and trusted method or go for new ones like search engine based PPC ? The answer lies in your requirement and an understanding of what banner advertisement can deliver. Let us discuss various concepts associated with on-line advertisement and analyze how banner advertisement works. What Kind of On-Line Advertisement Suits my Business ?
There are three major reasons for creating online
advertising campaign. These are:
Key Concepts Associated with On-Line Advertisement
Before proceeding any further, it is important
to understand a few key concepts associated with on-line advertisements
in general and banner advertisement in particular.
Impression
Impression is a measure of how many times an
ad has been viewed. How many people have viewed a banner ad or received
an "impression" by seeing the ad - is a measurement of responses
from the ad delivery system. Once a visitor has viewed a banner
on a web page - an impression is recorded. Banner views are different
from page views in the sense that there may be multiple banner views
within one page view. There's another distinction between page view
and banner view - some banner serving software do not count a banner
view unless the visitor stays on the page long enough for the banner
to be fully downloaded from ad server.
CPM
CPM refers to cost per thousand (M here stands
for 'Mille' - the Roman numeral used to represent 1000). CPM is
commonly used by the advertising industry to describe how many people
have viewed the banner ad (ad view) or received an "impression"
by seeing the ad. In other words, this is the price an advertiser
pays for displaying his/her banner 1,000 times.
For example, an advertising rate of $10 CPM, means the advertiser is paying $10 for every 1,000 impressions, or $0.01 for each banner impression. CTR or Click-Through
When a visitor gets interested in promotional
message of a banner, he/she clicks on it to learn more and is automatically
transported to advertiser's website. Every time someone clicks on
the banner, it is called a "click- through," and the "click-through
rate" is expressed in terms of percentage of users who click on
an advertisement (i.e. ratio of ad clicks to ad impressions). In
other words, click through ratio is an indication of a banner's
effectiveness.
How Advertiser Pays for Banner Advertisement
Universally, there are two modes of payment
for banner ad -
Typically, special server-based software called 'ad-server' rotates banner ads in specified places of a web-site. It also keep track of impressions, click-thorough and other vital statistics. In CPM mode of payment - advertiser pays for number of impressions based on an agreed CPM. For example, if a site charges US$ 9 per CPM - for $450 the advertiser gets $450 / $9 CPM * 1000 = 50,000 impressions If percentage of click thorough is 2 - 4%, advertiser may expect ~ 1000 - 2000 new customers visiting his/her web-site. This is apart from brand building based on number of impressions. In Click-Through mode - Advertisers pays a fixed fee for every click, no matter what is the number of impressions. In time-based banner advertisements (typical in India), advertiser pays a fixed fee based on monthly or quarterly rate, irrespective of the number of impression or click-thorough. Types of Banners Advertisements
Traditional banner ads were static in nature
- usually a .gif or .jpeg image file. With technology advancing
- new modes of banner ads appeared in ad scene. Following are some
of the popular modes of non-static banner ads
Checklist for Banner Designers
Here's a few things to keep in mind while creating
banner ad
Conclusion
Lack of targeting and visitor apathy are two
major drawbacks of banner ad campaigns. Because of large scale use
or misuse - visitors today treat banners as necessary evil and pay
little attention. Click through rate of banner ads are much lower
compared to other forms of on-line advertisement such as targeted
search engine marketing. However, banner ads are more effective
in brand building and work very well when the creative is attractive
and ad delivery systems can do some targeting.
Happy and Productive Surfing Dr. Amit K Chatterjee Related Links:
Source:
FAIDA - Newsletter on Business Opportunties from India and Abroad
Vol: 6, Issue 32
; May 27' 2006
|
|||
|
|||